Need tips and tricks

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Kat03785, Sep 18, 2008.

1. Kat03785

Kat03785 Rookie

Sep 18, 2008

This is a book - Sorry! Im desperate - my sanity is at stake!

This is my first year teaching. I have a class with 14 boys and 3 girls. I have a co-teacher who is in the room with me most of the time. This is the rowdiest class I have ever been with! I am having the hardest time getting this class to be quiet! Its a problem everywhere. They know each other from preschool and they talk in line, in class, on the carpet- EVERYWHERE despite our best efforts. They can only be quiet for a few minutes at a time. Our classroom is very small and I feel like sometimes my ears are ringing because all 17 kids are talking at once! I hate to yell and i hate the way it makes me so frustrated and angry. I don't like being that way!

On the carpet I am having the hardest time with getting kids to sit up and pay attention. They all want to lay down and roll all over the carpet or touch each other. We have several special cases in our class that we know that there is something physically up with them that is preventing them from paying attention. The rest of the kids just seem to feed off of that energy and its bedlam especially in the afternoons. I try to let them get up to sing songs or just get their wiggles out but it doesnt seem enough, or they get even more silly.

Also, I can get their attention, get them to freeze and be quiet while I give instructions but 5 seconds after I'm finished talking the noise level is up. Telling them to use inside voices or whisper voices does not work. Even telling them not to talk at all doesn't work. I know they know what to do they just don't do it for more than a few minutes at a time. Once one starts it all goes downhill! Even the specials teachers have asked that I accompany my class to help them.