Need support from people who understand

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ktmiller222, Sep 22, 2014.

1. ktmiller222

ktmiller222 Cohort

Sep 22, 2014

(FYI, I have two years teaching experience in another state....a few years ago)

Well, I just started to day-to-day sub in a few good school districts (quit a good job -non-teaching job-after four years) I'm already down on myself. I thought I would go in with confidence but I'm starting off the school year with the thoughts "I'm not good enough" "I won't get anything out of subbing" "Others are better". I don't understand why I'm thinking like this already because I've only subbed a few times.

Is this normal? I was excited to sub but now I feel like crap and I don't know why. It's like I'm dreading it and it just started! I'm not even introducing myself to people (only people who come into the classroom...I'm not even making a good first impression- I don't go into the principal's office let them know I'm here). My confidence is non-existent.

Any advice or positive thinking would be appreciated. I feel pretty pathetic by posting this but I honestly thought I was going to be positive about the subbing Thanks!!

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 22, 2014

When I subbed, I felt the same way. I think for most it's common to have that feeling. I would suggest stopping by the office just to pop in and say hi and let them place a face with the name. You have nothing to lose!

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Sep 22, 2014