Need suggestions-Help

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by crosscountryski, Sep 3, 2011.

1. crosscountryski

crosscountryski Companion

Sep 3, 2011

Hi

I am a preschool special education teacher. I just completed my first couple weeks with my students. I have gone through a range of emotions from tears and frusturation to being happy. In my class, 75% of the students are on IEPs and the rest are typical peers. The special education needs are extensive. I have a couple of students who are with 1:1 paras. I was not assigned a para this year to help with the remainder of the students. Trying to get support has officially became an Olympic event. My plate is overflowing and new demands are being placed on me, yet I am on my own. I feel like I have hit road block after road block and I am exhausted. Why can't I have a break? I am in a survival mode and we are only 3 weeks in.

Since this is a preschool special education program, I am focusing my time on addressing the needs of the special education students. One parent of a typical child complained to my supervisor because she feels that I need to address writing to accommodate her child and change the schedule as well. My students have weak fine motor skills and I am including activities to address that. My students are struggling with just holding pencils/cranyons let alone writing. Why should I change everything to accomodate this parent. It is a special education preschool not a typical preschool. My admin understands and supports this view.

Help. How can I make it through this year without having a stroke. I love being with the students but I am exhausted dealing with admin and trying to get support. I have been encouraged to speak up and rock the boat but when I do, I get shot down. So, I am at a point where I am not comfortable speaking up. I would rather keep quiet and to myself then speak up and get hurt.

What is everyone's schedule?

3. Pre-K Teacher 1

Pre-K Teacher 1 Comrade

Sep 3, 2011