Need some thoughts

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by kpa1b2, Jun 23, 2013.

1. kpa1b2

kpa1b2 Aficionado

Jun 23, 2013

I've been asked submit a proposal for an early childhood conference. I've presented there before, but this time they are asking for something different. I'm stuck. I've been doing the same presentation for a couple of years. This conference is attended by mostly preschool teachers, along with toddler/infant teachers. Maybe kindergarten teachers.

So, I need some ideas. My focus will be literacy. I've already done Family Literacy Bags.

I've thought about Mentor Texts, but I don't know if this would be appropriate for this audience.

I've thought about doing something with building literacy skills, but I don't know what direction to take on it. Games to make out of household supplies? Building literacy with books? songs? (I really don't want to sing in front of adults). Getting families involved in literacy?

If you were going to a conference what would you like to learn about?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 23, 2013

Literacy centers

Integrating art with literacy

Emergent literacy

Circle time ideas integrating language and literacy

Poetry

Writing workshop ideas

4. Rebel1

Rebel1 Connoisseur

Jun 23, 2013

I will post some ideas later on,'cause I have to run an errand.
    One that comes to mind right now. Have parents do this with their children...
    -Look around at home for food boxes with words on them.
    -Have the children cut out the words and glue them on paper.
    -Go over the words they picked, sound them out, and even make silly songs with them about the words.
    - Have the children do it at their own pace.
    -Never force the children to do it, but try to lead them into it.
    MAKE IT FUN!
    A lot of teachers and parents forget to make learning fun, so the children are bored to death!:(
    The stuff that I tend to recall very well are the ones I had a LOT of FUN while doing them! :cool:
    More later.....