Need Some Help!

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by NewTeacher05, Sep 5, 2013.

1. NewTeacher05

NewTeacher05 Rookie

Sep 5, 2013

Hi! I'm a first year Kindergarten Teacher. For the most part I have a pretty good class. They are engaged in learning and for the most part I have little disruptions when I divide them in groups and I work with a teacher group, which I think is excellent for the beginning of the year. My main problem is TALKING. Such as if I ask one child "Did you bring lunch today?" I get 20 other responses "I didn't bring lunch" or "I'm buying lunch!" I also get a lot of children who shout out answers without raising their hand or raise their hand while shouting out an answer. I have stressed that this behavior is not allowed in the classroom and each time I see a behavior I do not like I spend time explaining why its not allowed and I don't want to see it again. I have moved clips putting several children on "bad" colors, however it does not seem to phase them. It's only been a week, but I figure it's best to have them get it right now than have chaos later. Am I doing something wrong or is it just the first week?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 6, 2013

I'm in over my head here, but would this help?

Try starting every question with a name: "Tommy, did YOU bring lunch today?" If (and when) they all chime in, you can respond that the question was directed to Tommy, and that it's not fair to shout him down. Kids are all about fair, so I bet it would help.

When you open up a question to the entire class, I imagine they all feel as though you're talking to THEM. So I don't think they're trying to be bad; they've just never been in an enviornment where there are 20 other kids and you had to raise your hand. I don't think they're trying to be "bad", probably just forgetting this new structure in their excitement to answer your question.