Need Some Feedback Please...

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by wcj, Jul 9, 2009.

1. wcj

wcj Rookie

Jul 9, 2009

{Sorry for the length but I needed to explain everything... Thanks...}
    Hello everyone,
    I hope your summer has been going well and I hope that you are taking time to love yourselves. Well I hate to dump my problems on other people but I feel as if I have exhausted my non- teacher friends. My situation is not too complex but is grounded on emotion. You see, this is my first year of teaching and I began midyear as a kindergarten teacher at a charter school. I was so excited to have job after searching desperately for one after graduating. My school was working to become an IB school and had grades K-8. Things were fine until after a few weeks. I noticed things that you would not notice at other schools. For one, there was a lack of real leadership. When I arrived, I received no information about how attendance was done, lunch, field trip request, etc. I emailed the principal and never got a response. I had to chase her down and was given a gracious answer with no results. This was common. Plus, my first week on job, the after schools service was allowed to use my classroom without any prior warning and let’s just say they made themselves at home. They spilled juice on my personal library books that I purchased, used my classroom materials that I brought after I told them they could not, and supplies began missing. I went to the principal and complained with other teachers. Nothing was done except for a “discussion” with the manager of the program not the director. They continued to use my classroom and I was forced to have my students pack up all of our supplies. Not only was this a problem in my classroom, a colleague of mine had the same problem and personal items such as books, pencils, and other items were used and some went missing. Also, they left trash in the classroom. One of my colleagues found vomit in her classroom that no one bot