need some advice

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by real_life_teach, Feb 7, 2008.

1. real_life_teach

real_life_teach Rookie

Feb 7, 2008

Hello All,
    I am new to the forum. I am in the middle of my student teaching as we speak. Everything was going great...so I thought. My CT was constantly saying how amazing I was, that I was a better teacher than them (this was a red flag for me) and I would reply with, trust me I have a lot to learn and you are teaching me so much. Well anyways my principal came in for my first observation last week. During my lesson my teacher kept correcting me on MINOR things. I made a few mistakes that no one would have noticed had my CT not said anything, and so I just graciously said thanks so much for pointing that out, and then I would correct myself. My principal at one point told my ct to either be quiet or leave the room because he was there. I feel now that my CT is almost trying to undermine me, and I have done nothing but try and make him feel like he is amazing. He has even said to me..."When you are teacher of the year, don't forget to put in a plug for me."

Any suggestions???

:help:

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Feb 7, 2008

real life, I'm sorry that your CT has become like this. It sounds like he's jealous of your abilities as a teacher. The principal sounds like he wasn't going to allow the CT to get away with it. I would just carry out the rest of my student teaching with as much kindness towards him as possible.

4. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Feb 7, 2008

I agree- he is letting his own securities out . You don't owe him any reassurance by the way. He is supposed to be there as a role model for you. Seems like you know alot and I think you've handled things professioanlly so far( which is more than I could say for him)

How did he ever end up hosting a ST? :rolleyes:

5. real_life_teach

real_life_teach Rookie

Feb 7, 2008