Need Some Advice

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Unfound Fortune, Jun 25, 2012.

1. Unfound Fortune

Unfound Fortune Rookie

Jun 25, 2012

I have been surfing this site for quite a while and I finally decided to join in on all of these helpful discussions. I need some advice of my own. I graduated college with an elementary certification with a History Major. I did my student teaching at a middle school and did extremely well. Unable to find a job, or get an interview at that, and with student loans approaching, I took a pre-k position that I have now been at for eight years. I enjoy what I do, but I need to move on. I feel there is much more opportunity for me at other grade levels. I have been applying for all types of jobs, elementary and SS, but I have not gotten any bites. Did I totally make a detrimental career choice by accepting this job offer eight years ago? Is there anything that would help my job hunt? Getting frustrated with my decision. Any advice would be great. Thanks

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jun 25, 2012

I think history and ss jobs are so very hard to find in many areas of the country. I don't think it neccesarily has to do with teaching preK.

Good luck in your search.

4. Jayneorama

Jayneorama Rookie

Jun 25, 2012

I think it has nothing to do with pre-k either. I would keep applying, and think about networking. Do you have any children of teachers in your pre-k class? (Use your best judgement on talking to them - would it alienate your current employer? Would it make you appear less than happy in your current capacity to the parents who depend on you? If so, skip this one.) Do you know any through church, or other outside groups? Ask them what is up with hiring. They may know things that aren't advertised, etc.

5. CFClassroom

CFClassroom Connoisseur

Jun 25, 2012

I think the Prek-K experience is great. I requires creativity, organization and management. Play up those traits in letters and interviews.