need perspectives which one to choose

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by shine01, Aug 9, 2011.

1. shine01

shine01 Rookie

Aug 9, 2011

I got offers from two schools. One is a charter high school, another one is a public middle school. However, the middle school is a little bit far from my house comparing to the charter school. I already received the offer letter from the charter school. I have not yet received the offer letter from the middle school yet. But they gave me a verbal agreement and asked me to go to their school on Thursday. The charter school only offer me $48000 and each day is 8.6 hours of working. I think I will negotiate with the school about the pay, because I have a master's degree, and the public school should pay $52000 for master degree. However, that's a charter school so I am not sure their salary.
    1. Does any one know about charter school?
    2. If you were me, which one would you choose?
    3. How do I negotiate in a professional manor with the charter school's official about the salary?
    Thank you very much!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 9, 2011

Go to the ms on Thursday and see what their offer is...then you can counter offer the charter. I'd personally go with the public for reasons of professional development opportunities, job security, pension considerations....:2cents:

4. LUCHopefulTeach

LUCHopefulTeach Habitué

Aug 9, 2011

I've been told from administrators and teachers at charter schools that salary offers aren't up for discussion- no bartering. I would pick the job based on whether you'd prefer high school or middle school.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 9, 2011

Honestly I'd go with the public school position because of the additional money and like cza said, pd opportunities and stability.

6. shine01

shine01 Rookie

Aug 9, 2011

Seems public school is more appealing