Need New Ideas

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by ak721, Nov 2, 2008.

1. ak721

ak721 New Member

Nov 2, 2008

This is my first year teaching science, and I need some ideas. The textbook I have uses words and sentences that are over a lot of my students' heads. If they read it on their own, they don't understand it. If we read it aloud in class, they still have trouble with it and then I have some who don't even pay attention to the reading. I incorporate activities to go with each lesson, but I was wondering if anyone had any fun ideas to teach the main points they need to know without reading aloud.

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Nov 3, 2008

I'm not a science teacher, but just wanted to say, "Thank you" for recognizing that your text book (like almost all) are written at a reading level far beyond the grade level they are geared towards. This is a struggle I have at school as some teachers fail to recognize that just because a textbook has a grade level on the front of it doesn't mean that it is accessible to all (or even most) students in that grade.

Are you tied to having to use the textbook? Presenting the information to the students in the form of a PowerPoint or a summary before having the students read from the text may increase their understanding. Preteaching the vocabulary will also help. Teach some lessons on using the text features and summarizing may also make the material more accessible. Having the students read and discuss the material in small groups may also help. If you don't need to use the text, the sky's the limit, but it will be more work for you to find alternate materials.

4. Ranchwife

Ranchwife Companion

Nov 3, 2008