Need Job advice

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by FraggleTeach, Aug 27, 2011.

1. FraggleTeach

FraggleTeach New Member

Aug 27, 2011

Hi-
    I am new to A to Z. I have used it to print off worksheets or activities but I have never posted a question before. I wasn't sure to post it here or on Job seekers! Basically I am a new teacher, had my first teaching job last school year, (teacher assistant) and then was not re-hired. I have become very disillusioned with the teaching profession with all the political upheaval and layoffs, and have begun wondering if it is the right profession for me.

To get to the point...basically I am at a crossroads right now. I can't decide if I should continue on in education, get my Master's in Special Education or try something different, still in education but something that I would not take on the extra financial aid debt of more school, like preschool or paraeducator (which I have experience in). I am so in debt with my bachelor's.

I am wondering if any veteran, or new in similar position, teachers have any advice. Do you think the teacher field is going to improve in the next 3-4 years? Is Special Education still highly in demand, it once was but now everyone is doing special ed just to get a job it seems. I am also thinking my heart lies more in social work than teaching. Has anyone gone into education in their undergrad and then gone onto social work? I would love to talk to some one about that.

Geez sorry so long! I hope you read this even though I wrote a novel. Anyone with any advice would be a great help to me!
    Thank you so much for your time! Sorry to ramble!
    :confused::help::blush:

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Aug 27, 2011

My opinion is the teaching field is not going to improve any time soon. If you REALLY need to be a teacher then it's all moot. If not, then considering another field makes financial sense. That said, the economy in general is also in a quandary in many areas and not just teaching.