Need Ideas for Lost Tooth Keepers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by sherri0318, Jul 15, 2007.

1. sherri0318

sherri0318 Rookie

Jul 15, 2007

I'm a new teacher, teaching 1st Grade, and I'd like to have some ideas on how to "store" lost teeth (theirs, not mine...lol) so that they get home safe and sound. Any suggestions?

3. ~Nicole

~Nicole Comrade

Jul 15, 2007

I wouldn't buy anything yet-every district I've worked in the nurse had teeth necklaces that she provided.

4. OtterMom

OtterMom Comrade

Jul 15, 2007

I think those little "tooth necklaces" are too tempting for the kids to play with. They come open and the tooth is history!

I give the tooth-loser a regular white envelope with "_________'s TOOTH" written on the outside in marker, and let them draw their tooth or decorate the outside. Then, we ceremonially wrap the tooth in a tissue, insert it in the envelope, tape the envelope with that wide plastic tape to prevent tampering, and send it home.

When my own son swallowed his tooth and came home inconsolable from Kindergarten, we made popcorn, he selected the piece that looked the most like his tooth, and we put it under his pillow in an envelope with a note to the Tooth Fairy. I am planning to do this in my class if someone really "loses" a tooth. ;)

5. happyteacher

happyteacher Rookie

Jul 16, 2007

Plastic Easter eggs come to mind. You might have to put a piece of tape around ti to make sure it stays sealed.

6. loves2teach

loves2teach Enthusiast

Jul 16, 2007

I have my students wrap theirs in a paper towel or kleenex, and then they put it in a ziplock bag. Nurse does the same thing at my school.

7. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 16, 2007

We wrote a letter of explanation to the tooth fairy when my daughter did the same thing. She wrote back remembering the time that Uncle Steve swallowed his tooth.

(She always leaves notes at my house..."nice job brushing" type stuff. :) )

8. sevenplus

sevenplus Connoisseur

Jul 16, 2007