Need Ideas for High/Scope Classroom

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by LittleStar, Sep 14, 2008.

1. LittleStar

LittleStar New Member

Sep 14, 2008

Hi, Im new to this forum site. I am a second year teacher, but this is my first year in a High/Scope classroom. Its completely different from what I did last year. There is so much to learn about High/Scope and Im overwhelmed!

Does anyone have any ideas for large group and small group activities for the first couple weeks of school? This will be the children's second week so they are still getting used to everything. I need ideas mainly for small groups. Thanks!!

:dizzy:

3. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Sep 14, 2008

My mom does High/Scope with her ECSE classes and has compiled a list of small group ideas... and I just asked, but she doesn't have te file electronically; the speech path from their program does...

but off the top of her head, she just told me:

*using any type of manipulatives you have to count, sort, explore with, etc (math/fine motor)
    *use a variety of tongs, tweezers, chopsticks, etc. to transfer materials (they do sticks and acorns in the fall, bug counters in the spring, etc) (fine motor)
    *tearing paper (fine motor)
    *free exploration with crayons, markers, etc (art)
    *looking at books on a topic and talking about what they see in the books (language)
    *playdough (no tools at first, starting with balls and pancakes, then logs, then introducing cookie cutters and other tools) (fine motor)
    *use bears or other counters with small blocks or found materials to build and describe... or do over, under, on top of, next to, etc (language, etc)

Hopefully that will give you some ideas! She mentioned that H/S has several books full of small group activities that should help you out a lot if you can get your hands on them! :)

Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  4. Robin

Robin Rookie

Sep 16, 2008