Need ideas for an after school club!

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by sonflawah, Aug 17, 2011.

1. sonflawah

sonflawah Companion

Aug 17, 2011

I work at a 6th-8th school, and as a part of my contract, I need to sponsor an after school club. Some are already taken by other teachers (ASB, cooking, volleyball, art, wood working, gardening, show choir, drama, and a few others I can't recall). I don't want to do anything that would require too much planning because I have a lot of other stuff on my plate this year.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 17, 2011

What sort of stuff are you interested in outside of school?? Interests?? Hobbies???

4. sonflawah

sonflawah Companion

Aug 17, 2011

I teach science, but would like to do something different during the club time. I like animals, cooking, and camping. I would love to do something with animals, but I don't know exactly how that would work or how I could structure the club. I am not an artist... all of my ideas were taken already! :(

5. sonflawah

sonflawah Companion

Aug 17, 2011

I like reading. Do you think a book club would be boring? If there are not enough kids signed up for the club, I have to come up with a better idea.

6. roxstar

roxstar Companion

Aug 17, 2011

I don't think a book club is a bad idea at all, though I think it would depend on your students. How about a film club? Almost all kids love watching movies/TV so you would probably get a decent turn out for it. You can watch different movies and discuss the plot, direction etc. You said you aren't an artist, but you can find tons of information on the internet about dissecting/critiquing movies. You could do all sorts of fun things like having them be movie critics and write reviews or even hold your own Oscars or something. You would probably have to make sure the movies were PG but there is so much to choose from. Classic Hitchcock etc. Popcorn and movies, not much planning. :thumb:

7. KateL

KateL Habitué