Need HELP with cover letter

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Cj1976, Aug 15, 2014.

1. Cj1976

Cj1976 New Member

Aug 15, 2014

Hi-
    I feel that my cover letter is not helping me make it pass the consideration for interview.

I want a classroom of my own. I tried to find one last year after completing my Masters and working as an Aide for 3 years. It was getting to the end of summer and I ended up taking a K-5 Technology Teacher position to get my foot in the door. Now I feel that I am not being taken seriously or that people think that I am a computer teacher.

I also think my cover letter is too long. Should I cut the educ. philosophy section since it is listed on top of my resume?

Please help, I know it can be better, I am just not good at it.

See below:

To Whom it May Concern,

I am expressing my interest in any full-time teaching positions open for the 2014-2015 School Year.

I know that my experiences plus having completed my M.Ed at NNN College have prepared me well for my own classroom. Currently, I am employed by the ABC School District at DEF Elementary as the K-5 Elementary Computer teacher where I enthusiastically:

*Develop a positive, well-managed learning environment which engages students and maximizes on-task behavior
    *Develop lessons and student activities that progress sequentially and are aligned to the state standards
    *Differentiate instructional delivery and activities to meet needs of all students
    *Collaborate with classroom teachers to integrate technology into school curriculum
    *Maintain a website that utilizes incorporated grade level lesson links and communication to families

Throughout this school year, I received consistently positive feedback. I was rated "Proficient" during my evaluations.