need help with bossy parent!!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by coffee crazy, Apr 11, 2009.

1. coffee crazy

coffee crazy Rookie

Apr 11, 2009

I am new at this. What do you say when parents try and tell you how to run your class? I don't want to come off defensive or ugly, but I am not very diplomatic...NEED Help!! New at this.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 11, 2009

Can you simply say: "Thanks for sharing. I'll think about that." and then walk that person to the door.

4. pxydst07

pxydst07 Comrade

Apr 11, 2009

I agree with czacza. Politely stating, "Thank you, I'll keep that in mind." and then be done with it. I can't think of a different approach that won't come off defensive.

5. TeachersRock!

TeachersRock! Rookie

Apr 11, 2009

Guilt is Good!

Just a Mom here who volunteers a lot in the classroom. Bossy parents drive most teachers nuts. My son's teacher is polite, but has a great strategy. She always suggest that the parent be in attendance(at some point) in the child's classroom. This is when complainers REALLY see how much she is prepared and busts her butt! If they don't come, it presumes indifference.

Like any profession...offer up a "walk in the shoes" and then they may realize. If the parent likes the teacher and dislikes lesson plans; send 'em on up to the princiPal. That usually does it here!;);)

6. coffee crazy

coffee crazy Rookie

Apr 11, 2009

thank you...the ones that make me crazy are very hands on..but like to tell me how to do my job!

7. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Apr 11, 2009

I agree with the previous posters but I know how you feel. I am very non-confrontational and I don't always know how to handle the crazy parents. My only other advice is to do your best to help the parent feel like part of the team, whether its coming in or helping in another way. Otherwise do your best to make it through the rest of the year...then u get a new set of parents!

8. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Apr 11, 2009