Need help or a straitjacket. Very long.

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Dedicated, Apr 19, 2008.

1. Dedicated

Dedicated Rookie

Apr 19, 2008

I have lost the battle for discipline with my 8th grade classes. (I teach 6th & 7th grades also, but I have more control with them.) I am a first year teacher working at a largely hispanic & black inner city school with a new principal. There is a tremendous school wide discipline problem. The other teachers agree that the students are out of control though some veteran teachers (core subject) seem to be doing OK. (To illustrate how bad conditions are:the newly appointed principal and her 2 VPs are leaving by the end of this year.) I am told many teachers leave each year.
    Most of my students simply refuse to do the work I assign. The 8th grade curriculum consists of careers and relationships. I tried rewards, but it is clear they have simply taken over. They don't care to work toward any reward because they do what they please anyway. Many are loud, rude and foul mouthed. They sit wherever they want even though I have tried to maintain a seating chart. They are bullies. If I give them the grades they deserve, I would be failing 2/3 of the class. They tell me my class doesn't matter, it's "boring" or "too hard".
    Yesterday, two students (one who does do the work and one who doesn't ) told me other classes are fun and mine is not. I've tried to come up with engaging lessons, but so far have not found anything that works. There is no such thing as class discussion (I can't get them quiet), they refuse to participate in activities I've planned. I can't begin to describe how bad the situation is.