Need Help CBEST MATH

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by Counz2BLiz, Jan 13, 2007.

1. Counz2BLiz

Counz2BLiz Rookie

Jan 13, 2007

:eek: I am signed up for the CBEST 2/10/07 math is the only section that I need to pass. I have taken it 3 times. one time for each section of the test but I would try to pass the math. In other words I studied for the reading took that section and once done I gave the math a try, not having studied at all. I only studied for it once and took the test. I was 4 points from passing. I need the least amount, a 37 on it. I am taking an online math class and studying each day from CBEST test prep books. I am determined to pass it once and for all. Any suggestions from those who had difficulty on the math?? I got through graduate statistics and have a difficult time with simple math, this is just embarassing.:eek: I guess if you don't use it you lose it huh? Any suggestions would be so warmly accepted.

Thanks a bunch!!
    Liz;)

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 14, 2007

If you got through graduate statistics, you're probably overthinking this thing - and that's more common than you might expect.

Do you find yourself changing answers a lot?

4. Counz2BLiz

Counz2BLiz Rookie

Jan 20, 2007

The way I answer is....

to be hasty without checking my work, which will change this test! I have been known to change answers here and there. I am taking an oline math class to brush up my skills and studying the CBEST books anywhere from 1-2.5 hours per day when I am done I will have a month into it. I should be ready by then. Any suggestions are very welcome:angel:

Thanks a bunch!
    Liz

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 21, 2007

Check the copyright dates on the books you're using: if the date's 2002 or before, the book probably doesn't reflect the current CBEST. (A book that mentions test-score interpretation probably is current.)

6. Counz2BLiz

Counz2BLiz Rookie

Jan 21, 2007