Need Help: 1st time teaching Kindergarten

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by ICareTher4Ido, Aug 16, 2008.

1. ICareTher4Ido

ICareTher4Ido Rookie

Aug 16, 2008

I have been teaching for 6 years, but this is my first year teaching kindergarten. I have just found out I will not be supplied with a class library nor will my kids have cubbies. Does anyone know where to get resources so I won't go into debt trying to put this room together? I still have to get use to the table thing. Do I put a container in the middle of the table for supplies? (I am so use to desk) I also found out I will not have a desk in my room only a "teacher's table". Are there any suggestions of how to organize my table? I don't know how I would get by without having a desk with drawers.

I guess I am so nervous. I have taught 3rd grade and worried that I will have trouble adapting to K.

Thank you for any suggestions.:help:

3. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Aug 16, 2008

Go to the thrift shops in the area and see what you can find?

Ask the janitor's if there is a closet or extra room where they keep extra desk and etc.

4. AFWifeNGermany

AFWifeNGermany Rookie

Aug 16, 2008

I used a kidney shaped teacher's table for my desk last year. I put my TV cart with my computer on it behind my table (in the corner of the room). I used 4 Rubbermaid drawer sets on either side of the TV cart for storage. I like it better than having a desk! It saves space!

5. Cashel

Cashel Rookie

Aug 16, 2008

I use a container in the center of tables for supplies. I keep glue, scissors, and pencils in them. I used to use yogurt cups for crayons, but they would get knocked over. Now I just use small baskets. I've even used disposable sandwich containers for crayons. I like doing community supplies. I'm not sure I could keep track of them any other way!!