Need answer: Transition from school to work & parents voice

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by 2Teach_is_2Care, Oct 27, 2006.

1. 2Teach_is_2Care

2Teach_is_2Care Rookie

Oct 27, 2006

Hi- I'm taking a transition course and need some help. I have been trying to find specifically where it states the role of the parent in the ITP/IEP of a child and how much of a voice they are allowed.:confused:

(Let me say this: I'm not looking for someone to write this for me. I just need some sort of direction to go for this situation. I am new to teaching & to special education and teach elementary school (5th grade). Thanks.)

In brief: Let's say that a child has shown a lot of interest in becoming a chef, so the IEP team helped the student create a career path and work experience program to fit this interest. But the child's mother disagrees with this and thinks that the school personnel have supported her son's interest, but has not encouraged him to pursue other careers. She even refuses to sign her son's IEP (who's 18). She feels as though the school is pursuing his interests, but not her desires. The student is LD and has significant challenges with reading, but has passed the state achievement test to earn a high school diploma.
    My assignment is: as a "transition consultant" the mother wants to know what suggestions that I may have for her and ingetting the school to revise her son's IEP and what the school's legal responsibilites might be. In my response, I am to address the school's legal obligations and rights of students recieving special education services.

I know that the transition planning needs to be student centered and to focus on his/her interests, desires, and goals. But how does a parent's viewpoint play into this?

3. ellen_a

ellen_a Groupie

Oct 27, 2006