Need Advice

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ready2teachintx, Jan 1, 2008.

1. ready2teachintx

ready2teachintx Companion

Jan 1, 2008

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Looking for some new year's advice:confused:

I am a new teacher and am currently at a good school in an okay district. However I am wanting to change districts in the Fall and work in my son's school district..be closer to home and hopefully be able to take my son to school/work with me. I am currently teaching PPCD (SPED for Preschoolers) and I really love it but have also considered KInder, 1st or regular Pre-K.

I would love to be able to work at my son's school, but I am not sure if I should apply there first and how to not seem too agressive or anxious about interviewing there.

I need some advice on how to go about applying at the new district and should I go through HR or apply through the administrators at the particular schools that I really want to work at? Should I email them?

Not sure what to do...any advice would be greatly appreciated:)

3. vannapk

vannapk Groupie

Jan 2, 2008

I'm not sure how it works in the particular district you are referring to, but I can tell you how it works here in my district, I have been involved in many hiring committees. In our district you MUST apply on-line first. A principal may not even contact you until all of your info is in the computer. If you send him or her an e-mail they must not respond, if you send them a hard copy of your resume they cannot respond until all of your info is in the computer via the on-line application you submitted. Once your on-line application is submitted and is up on-line then anything is fair game- phone calls, hard copies, e-mails etc. - just make sure to mention that your application is complete in HR.
    Good luck!

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 2, 2008