Need advice

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Shiloh17, Jan 24, 2015.

1. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Jan 24, 2015

Hi Everyone,

I graduated college in May 2013 with a prek-4th certification. Currently, I teach pre-k at a private catholic school. I love where I work, my co-workers, children and families. The only problem is I have no benefits and the pay is very poor. It is my second year, I work everyday until 1PM. I go through periods where I get very upset, knowing I could do more with my degree. When I intitally graduated I applied to numerous teaching positions and had no luck. I really liked the vibe from this preschool, because of all the resources available. Computer room, library, classroom materials, iPads etc. I am planning on returning, although my hours may get cut on tues/thurs. I may teach a shorter class. In the summer I am planning on looking for one-on-one and TA positions in the public schools. The truth is I am comfortable where i am at, I would stay there if I could make more money. I have no desire to be a public school teacher. :( I think I need advice and motivation....what should I do? TIA

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jan 24, 2015

Are there any other private schools nearby?

4. iteachbx

iteachbx Enthusiast

Jan 24, 2015

I don't think the pay at a Catholic School will ever be comparable to a public school, especially in the area where I live. As teachers move up in salary steps year after year Catholic School teachers' salaries stay the same. You have to decide what's more important to you, the salary or the community. Maybe at this point in your life it's the community but later on you might need a higher salary. You could still find a public school with great resources and a nice community feel. Now that you have experience it might be easier to get that job.

5. otterpop

otterpop Phenom

Jan 24, 2015

Can you find another part time job to supplement your income?