need advice on ADHD child

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by luv2teach415, Sep 17, 2014.

1. luv2teach415

luv2teach415 Companion

Sep 17, 2014

Hi all,

I am a 3rd grade teacher in a self-contained class. I have one student with severe ADHD. I've been a teacher for years now, and this is the worst I've seen in terms of ADHD. This student doesn't sit at all. Honestly, the student just can't...needs to be moving all the time. I don't mind if my students need to move around as long as they don't distract others, and this student does usually focus when moving. However, there are also many times throughout the day where this student does become disruptive to others who are also trying to learn and work. We do brain breaks in the classroom about every 30 - 45 minutes to get them moving and re-energize. We do different activities and group work. But I guess, I'm looking for any suggestions that you all might have on how to handle and help a child with severe ADHD. Any advice? Thanks so much.

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Sep 17, 2014

Let him stand to do written work.

Stick a piece of velcro (soft side) on his desk or the inside of his desk for him to fiddle with.

If there is another student who you think is mature enough to be a buddy for him, talk to that student and enlist whatever type of help you think might be valuable.

Give the student a daily chore.

Provide pictures of appropriate classroom behavior.

Provide a safe space for him to use to regroup.

Arrange a special signal he can give you to let you know when he feels out of control. He may be so unaware of his feelings, though, that he won't be able to do this. Give him some kind of picture chart of emotions that he can use to express himself to you.

Remember that he will probably not be aware of how his behavior is inappropriate.

Make sure there are a variety of assignments/chores/activities at which he can be successful each day.