need advice: accommodations in the classroom

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by teach41, Jul 15, 2007.

1. teach41

teach41 New Member

Jul 15, 2007

I will have this high school student in my class for the 2nd year in a row and would like some advice on how to better suit her needs. I am a regular education teacher in a private school, but I have a student who has had multiple concussions/a major head injury due to sports. She receives various accommodations in the classroom through an individualized accommodation plan which includes having extended time on tests. However, many of the accommodations have not worked for her/my class. My concern is with her memory/attention problems (there will be times when she completely zones out or has trouble following lectures). I would like some advice on how to continue to teach normally, but to also address her needs at the same time. She is a very bright student who has been faced with new challenges and I would like to help her out as best as I can. Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks!

Basically, what i am is asking is what would be some good accommodations for someone that has short-term memory loss, processing speed problems, and attention/ concentration problems in the classroom?

3. OtterMom

OtterMom Comrade

Jul 15, 2007

I certainly don't teach anywhere near your level, but I have had special needs students whose disabilities included difficulty with staying on track and understanding expectations. We had rotating voluntary "peer partners" (usually higher-level learners) who would sit with the student and help/guide/intervene.

I don't know whether this approach would be appropriate for secondary, but it worked for elementary, and my students were eager to assist. Overall it taught them to be sensitive to the needs of others, and I think that the students who were in my classes the years I used this approach will be more understanding adults.