National Board Certified?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by katydid205, Aug 20, 2007.

1. katydid205

katydid205 Companion

Aug 20, 2007

I am about to start on the National Board Certification and was wondering if anyone else did and could share some advice?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 22, 2007

I'm curious to see the responses to this one. I'm thinking about doing it myself, but I haven't looked into it too much.

4. Pattie

Pattie Companion

Aug 22, 2007

I have heard from multiple people in my area who did it an they said it was grueling and hard and if they had to do it over again they would have gotten their master's instead. They said there were so many reflections for everything they did and kind of intense. It scared me off! I got my master's instead!

5. katydid205

katydid205 Companion

Aug 22, 2007

national boards

I already have my master's, but don't want to get my PhD. I've talked to teachers in my school b/c 9 teachers have it where i teach. they said it's brutal, but worth it!

6. pamms

pamms Comrade

Aug 22, 2007

What did they say made it worthwhile? I am considering it too, but the year can be challenging enough sometimes without volunteering for more. I saw somewhere that some schools MAY now give graduate credit for national boards. That would be a plus.

7. MissNikki

MissNikki Comrade

Aug 22, 2007

Our district gives a $1500 stipend to anyone who has it. But, what is the point? It goes away after five years anyway.

8. daysy_may

daysy_may Groupie

Aug 22, 2007

This is funny because I was just looking into that earlier this evening.

9. kiraj

kiraj Companion

Aug 22, 2007

I'm also considering it, because it's one of the ways to get a continuing license in Oregon. I already have my Masters, which is required anyways.

10. katydid205

katydid205 Companion

Aug 22, 2007