National Board Certification???

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by edukidds, Mar 13, 2008.

1. edukidds

edukidds Rookie

Mar 13, 2008

Hello. I am considering going for National Board Certification next year. I am not financially able to go for my Master's degree yet. I want to finish paying off my undergraduate student loans first before accruing more debt!

I presently have a Bachelor's degree in Early Childhood Education and I am in my fourth year of teaching. Is it really beneficial to be Nationally Board Certified? Should I wait until I can afford to get my Master's degree? If you have any input on this matter, I would greatly appreciate it.

FYI: Due to my husband's job, we could very likely be moving across the country, which is another reason I am considering going for National Board Certification. :confused:

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 13, 2008

I know some states don't have anything to do with the National Board. So you might want to look into what states you could possibly be moving to, and make sure they accept it before spending the time studying for it.

4. Budaka

Budaka Cohort

Mar 13, 2008

Some states pay you more if you are nationally board certified, but it isn't really (if I understand it correctly) an open certification to teach anywhere. It is more something that states that your teaching is of high calibre. In my state having it extends your certificate to ten years instead of five.

5. MsWK

MsWK Habitué

Mar 19, 2008

When I got my master's degree, I pretty much tripled my salary. Now I can actually afford to pay back my loans. Your mileage may vary.

6. edukidds

edukidds Rookie

Mar 19, 2008

In my district, I would only make $2,000-$3,000 more a year with a Master's degree. This would only slighty raise my salary. I cannot imagine having my salary tripled!

7. Blue

Blue Aficionado

Mar 20, 2008