Nannying

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Beverly, Dec 19, 2010.

1. Beverly

Beverly Comrade

Dec 19, 2010

Hi everyone! I wasn't really sure where to put this post because essentially I'm looking for other posters who watch a few children for more than 8 hours a day. I'm a certified teacher and took the nanny job after being an underpaid and undersupported daycare teacher. I work with 3 kids right now. Two of them are 3 y.o. and one is 2. They're amazing kids and I have a great time working with them, but I often work 9 or 10-hour shifts starting early in the morning, and sometimes it's exhausting and goes by slowly. I think I do a great job of planning DAP activities, but I'm finding the 2 y.o. to be a challenge because she tends to interrupt the academic activities and of course I'm trying to respond to her needs & work on potty-training while keeping the other two busy. There are limits to what we can do because I can't transport them anywhere outside of walking distance. (And within walking distance, there's a tiny park... that's about it... :whistle:). I guess the cold weather is giving us even more cabin fever, even though we have played in the snow quite a bit. :cool:

Compared to daycare, just having enough materials to keep the kids engaged is a challenge. We do art every day and read new stories every day, and I keep some go-to materials there (dry erase markers, playdoh, magnet letters, etc) along with other thematic activities that I plan, but it's really not the same as having a whole classroom full of manipulatives at your disposal. Anyone had a similar experience?

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Dec 19, 2010