N-Word

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by splendid, Feb 18, 2014.

1. splendid

splendid New Member

Feb 18, 2014

I am a new secondary ELA teacher. We are talking about Frederick Douglass and I want to do a warm up with my students where they insert commas into a passage about FD. However, it quotes him using the N-word. Is that okay in context? They are in 11th grade.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 18, 2014

This question is probably better directed to your admin. What might be okay or not okay in my school climate might be different in yours.

4. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Feb 18, 2014

Can you bleep out the n word? Like use "------" in the text?

I wouldn't be comfortable using it. But I agree with Caesar, ask admin.

5. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Feb 18, 2014

I wouldn't mind if we were reading literature and it was said in context of the period in which the book was written, but if it's just a grammar exercise as you mention, I would probably just pick something else to be on the safe side.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 18, 2014

I'd leave it out.

7. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Feb 18, 2014

For a grammar exercise per se, I'm with Peregrin: I'd use a different quote from Frederick Douglass - there's no shortage: the man could write - or from someone else.

For a lesson on incendiary language or changes in word meanings, I'd clear the lesson with administration first, and - depending on the community - I might still hesitate.

Other than the n-word, what is it that the quote you want to use is driving at?

8. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 18, 2014

Evidently he used the n-word in several speeches. But there are also plenty of FD speeches and quotes you could use as well as other non-FD passages you could use for punctuation study...I would advise you not open yourself up to scrutiny and criticism by using the quote in question.