My son is going to be retained......

Discussion in 'General Education' started by skittleroo, Apr 7, 2010.

1. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Apr 7, 2010

My first grader is going to be retained in first grade. I feel pretty much like a failure of a mother right now. And, I am a teacher. In fact, I am a great teacher. So I feel even more guilty for somehow not picking up on his struggles until first grade.

He has made huge gains, but....not enough to do well in 2nd. He came to first not read AT ALL. He didn't even know how to blend a cvc word and now he knows about 60 sight words and beginning to learn silent e rule.

He is EXTREMELY ADHD and can barely see out of one eye (the other he has good eyesight).

I am teaching him at home, but after working all day it is hard to give him what I give my own students. He wasn't taught anything in kinder and even first grade isn't in a great school ( no guided reading at all).

I feel sooooo bad. Logically I know it's not the end of the world and I definitely don't want him to go to 2nd and wind up hating himself and school (he is a July birthday so he even looks and acts like my kinders).
    I just can't help feeling so much guilt................:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Apr 7, 2010

Can you send him to a better school next year? Don't beat yourself up over this. It sounds like he has made progress this year. He is achieving in spite of his disabilities.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Apr 7, 2010

You are NOT a bad mom. You are a mom who wants only the best for your child. And it's killing you that you can't make this better for him. That makes you an incredible mom.