My son has a BS in physics--can he teach?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by LynnB, Jun 18, 2009.

1. LynnB

LynnB Rookie

Jun 18, 2009

My son recently graduated with a BS in physics (not ed) but is having trouble finding a job. Since he has found several ads for physics teachers, we were wondering if he could teach on an emergency license or does he have to have a teacher's license first? I am a bit confused about this even though I am a teacher myself. I'm sure this differs depending on the state.

3. mollydoll

mollydoll Connoisseur

Jun 18, 2009

Go to his state's dept of education site and look for alternate route certification. He probably needs at least Praxis I/II. There is probably still time for him to register for the July test.

I am in a similar situation: I have my B.S. and Praxis I/II and the required state literacy exam, but I do not have any student teaching or education coursework. I am enrolled in an MAED program for the fall and will have full cert once I finish the sequence my state requires.

I found a job pretty easily (for science) and even since accepting the job have turned down another and several interview requests. The job market is great for certain science subjects! In another subject, I would not have been given the time of day by any of these schools.

If he is willing to relocate, he will certainly find a state with a licensing path he could follow, although he could be a tougher sell if he doesn't have any related experience (I at least had subbing and paid tutoring).

4. Muttling

Muttling Devotee

Jun 18, 2009

Physics teachers are in demand and the demand WILL increase. The question is how to make the jump. He's got a LOT to learn about teaching and getting a job with no teaching training is going to be tough even if the state will certify him.