My sad and crazy story.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by guerrer3, Sep 13, 2011.

1. guerrer3

guerrer3 Rookie

Sep 13, 2011

I am a first year teacher and I have already resigned from my school district. I knew that at the end of student teaching, I didn't want teaching to be my career. I had this thought bottled up in the back of my mind, but I never reacted on it because I was so close to completing my degree.

Here is my background..I was an engineering major, but decided to switch out of it in my first year. I found something closely related to that area, which was Technology Education..the new name for industrial arts. When I think about it now, I liked learning the content, but I didn't really enjoy the teaching parts. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy teaching somewhat, especially the moments when a student completes a project or the light bulb comes on in their heads. But all in all, I figured out that I don't like the art of teaching groups of students in a classroom setting. Maybe it's just my personality, but I'm not at all thrilled at teaching students who don't want to be taught, and I can't deal with students who are defiant or misbehaving. I realized this at the end of student teaching, and I realize now that I only tolerated my experiences in the classroom because I knew that I would never see those kids after XX amount of days.