My grade level chair has suddenly started calling me by my first name?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Teacher_Lyn, Feb 2, 2009.

1. Teacher_Lyn

Teacher_Lyn Companion

Feb 2, 2009

I'm a young teacher (24) and my grade level chair is old enough to be my mother (she's said her youngest daughter is 35). We've always called each other "Ms. <full lastname>" whether the kids are around or it's just the two of us working in her classroom.

Today, however, she's starting calling me "Lynn" (not in front of the kids of course, but before and after school).

It doesn't bother me, but it's kinda odd because she never asked if it was cool, she just started doing it.

Is this an unspoken teacher rule that means I am supposed to call her by her first name? Since she's older than me, should I perhaps call her either "Ms. <first name> or maybe Ms. <first initial>"

Or just continue to call her "Ms. <full last name>" unless she says to call her something else?

3. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Feb 2, 2009

I've never heard of a place where teachers don't call each other by their first names. If I'm in front of kids, I'll try to use a formal title, but sometimes I slip.

But away from students, it's always been first names.

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Feb 2, 2009

This is the same for me. All staff use first names with each other (when not in front of kids), including administration.

5. adventuresofJ

adventuresofJ Comrade

Feb 2, 2009

Yeah. I've never been in a place where you didn't use the staff's (including higher ups) first names.

6. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Feb 2, 2009

I still use titles for my coworkers, but it is because I am younger and it feels rude not to. Of course, I think as you grow closer, that feeling fades...so I don't see a problem with it. That is probably what happened here, just a natural thing.

I'd continue using the title with this person unless she asks otherwise.

7. HMM

HMM Cohort

Feb 2, 2009