My First Year...placed with a monster of a Co-Teacher. Help!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MsDaoust, Aug 9, 2015.

1. MsDaoust

MsDaoust Rookie

Aug 9, 2015

This is my first year as a teacher. I got a job at a charter school teaching 6th grade ELA/SS. What I wasn't told was that I would be co-teaching. We each have our own room with our own kids (roughly 20 for each of us). But basically all 40 students are ours. We have to plan together and do everything the exact same.
    I met with my new partner, and she is a massive control freak (those were her own words.) I have so many awesome ideas, and I have already been working on my room the past two weeks. She has already told me I have to change everything because thats not how she does it.
    She told me she does not grade papers, so I will be doing all of that. She also told me that during pre-planning this week, she will be planning everything and I will be decorating her room. I am not an intern anymore! I am not there to be pushed around, we are supposed to be equals.
    I am struggling to stay positive. I am very excited to be teaching. She has been teaching for over 14 years, and she hates it. She no longer wants to be a teacher. She told me not to volunteer for anything, and not to put out any extra effort for the school.
    This being my first year, that just isn't my style. I want to be as involved as possible.
    I am very thankful that I found a job teaching the subject I love.
    Any ideas on how to deal with this crazy year that is about to come my way?
    I am thinking that I can suck it up for a year, and try to make the best of it. But at the same time, it's my first year and I want to do things the way I have been dreaming of for so long.
    Thoughts? Suggestions? Help?!

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Aug 9, 2015