My first Open House

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Aimee, Sep 11, 2005.

1. Aimee

Aimee Rookie

Sep 11, 2005

I started my new job last week as a first grade teacher. I got my students on Thursday and Open House is on Tuesday!! Help! I am a first year teacher so I've never had to do this before. And all of my students are brand new to me. What do I talk about? I have two 20 minute sessions. All of my students came from other first grade classes at the school. Some parents volunteered their kids to go, others did not. What do I say to make the parents feel comfortable about having their child in my class? What if they are unhappy? Especially since I'm just starting out. Any advice???

3. RitaFirstGrade

RitaFirstGrade Companion

Sep 11, 2005

First, congrats! You are going to LOVE first grade! I have found that most parents are supportive and I bet they will be for you as well. I have open house on Tuesday as well. At my school, we are not expected to give a "speech" at open house. We just have student-made work out and ready for parents to look at. I am going to also post a to-do list of things they should do while they are there and will include meeting me on that list. I walk around and mingle while they look around. Have out an information packet that explains some things about you and your classroom procedures. You may also want to include a class schedule and a volunteer chart. Go to my website and click on "newsletters and forms" for some examples. I would ask how open house works at your school. Good luck to you! Just smile and be yourself!

4. teacher62604

teacher62604 Companion

Sep 11, 2005

First of all, relax. I know it can be scary, but you will do fine. What I always do is talk about my expectations, rules, guidlines, and I tell the parents what we are going to be learning about. At our school, we only have 15 minute sessions, so it works out well. Good luck! :D
    [​IMG]

5. Rosieo

Rosieo Enthusiast

Sep 11, 2005