My dream job turned into a nightmare!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by JesusIsMyTeach, Oct 5, 2019.

1. JesusIsMyTeach

JesusIsMyTeach Rookie

Oct 5, 2019

Hi everyone, I am so overwhelmed but always praying.
    This is my first year at this middle school and it's teaching an elective part time. I had previously worked as a 6th grade teacher for 5 years at another school that had poor leadership.

I'm teaching the Arts so when I saw it I thought it was a dream come true. It would've been if they had let me do applications to get in my elective. It's a total nightmare. I spend 90% of the class doing management than teaching. I was known at my previous school for great classroom management. It's like they've never heard of rules before. The school as a whole is a discipline issue. It's really hard and I would leave mid year if I didn't care about not getting another teaching job. I'm just going to stick it out but I'm not sure how much more I can take. I'm definitely not going back to this school next year. At least I can say my reason for leaving is because I want a full time job.

How early can you start applying to other schools?

Thank you for reading. :)

3. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Comrade

Oct 5, 2019

It is still kind of early in the school yr here. We have not done 1st quarter report cards yet. A lot of times, kids are unruly at 1st. It takes time for them to get to know your expectations. Since you have a good track record w/ classroom management, you may want to wait awhile to see if behaviors change enough.
    If not, I think you could start applying now if you see jobs that look interesting, but be prepared for backlash if your admin finds out. ( Like a reference call.)