My daughter is my co-teacher...scared!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Matt633, Aug 15, 2009.

1. Matt633

Matt633 Comrade

Aug 15, 2009

So I have been a teacher for 23 years. This year my daughter will be my co-teacher This is her 4th year teaching. We are very close.

We are teaching 5th grade. I was a little hesitant but in the last two weeks especially last week which was teacher work week, everything seemed effortless. I couldn't ask for a better week. But, now I am getting the nervous jitters! What if she is disappointed in me, sometimes I think she has me on a higher pedestal (teacher wise at least) than I really am.

Anyway I guess I just wanted to vent my feelings! Oh! the pressure!

3. ms. yi

ms. yi Comrade

Aug 15, 2009

I know a teacher who worked with her mom and she absolutely loved it. I wouldn't worry about her being disappointed in you. If anything, I think it'll bring you guys closer.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Aug 15, 2009

Wow! More power to you both.

5. futureteach21

futureteach21 Habitué

Aug 15, 2009

Thats interesting. In my district family members can't work together.

6. Jem

Jem Aficionado

Aug 15, 2009

My mother was my principal the first year I taught, and it was fabulous. She was an amazing mentor and I loved every minute. You and your daughter are so very lucky. I'd give anything to go back to that arrangement!

7. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Aug 15, 2009

I think it's an interesting situation to be in and it could be good or bad depending on how you two handle it. My school district wouldn't hire family members for the same school. Is this a small district you're in?

8. Matt633

Matt633 Comrade

Aug 15, 2009

We work in a private school. But one that requires degrees and certification. It is a good match, as her specialty is Language Arts, I am elementary cert. and my strengths are Math, Social Studies and dealing with parents!