My current boss for reference?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by heather002, Jan 19, 2021.

1. heather002

heather002 Rookie

Jan 19, 2021

I'm a classroom teacher but want to apply for an interventionist position for next year. The district I'm applying to requires three references, including an administrator from my previous job. I can’t even finish the application process without these references. The thing is that the "previous" job is my current job. I'm just not comfortable with the idea of telling my boss that I'm looking for another job. If anyone can advise me on this, I would really appreciate it.

3. tuankiet153

tuankiet153 Rookie

Jan 19, 2021

Last edited: May 8, 2021
  4. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jan 19, 2021

Tuankiet,
    You are mistaken. Many teachers choose to become interventionists because they prefer that to the duties of being a classroom teacher. In many districts, interventionist jobs are highly competitive and desirable.

5. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jan 19, 2021

Unfortunately, in education, 90% of the districts require a reference from your current administrator, and will not accept you application without it. They won't accept a previous administrator, it must be your most recent administrator. Some districts, however, allow one alternative to this, which is providing copies of your most recent and your annual evaluations from your most recent administrator (they have to be "official" and signed by your principal. Not all districts allow this, but I've come across a few who do, so it might be worth a call to the human resources department to find out. The worst they could say is "no."