My Class : /

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by NewTeacher05, Nov 21, 2013.

1. NewTeacher05

NewTeacher05 Rookie

Nov 21, 2013

Hello,
    I am a first year K teacher. My class is very needy and attention seeking and have a sibling like relationship with each other (love to talk and be friends, but constantly tattling and pushing, kicking, etc. because "they did it to me 1st"). We do a color behavior chart, and if I ask students to clip down I get attitude tantrums (throwing themselves on the floor) or a 20 min crying session from half of them. I've given candy for positive behavior but I have like 4 or 5 that will pout and cry because they did not get candy and it still does not motivate most of them to change. I email parents and tell them exactly whats going on and I get "We are working with them at home." and nothing changes.

I have 1 student that will be the last kid in line to line up for recess and then GO BACK to the playground and go play until I make the rest of my class start to walk inside and he sees he is about to get in trouble (he always does get in trouble for this). I have told his mom this several times and all she says is "I will look over your notes and get back to you."

I have a couple that whine and say they do not want to do certain assignments, when they tattle on one person, the other person always chimes in with "no I didn't...." I will tell the other person to stop I am not speaking to them right now, but they disrespect me and continue "no, I didn't do anything...." until I threaten with a consequence. The same goes for if I say they are doing something behaviorally wrong they will tell me "No I didn't....."

The only thing they respond to is me threatening their recess time, going to another class room, etc. I don't want to threaten all day long....please help!

3. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Nov 21, 2013