My class is bouncing....help!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teachnicks, Sep 7, 2019.

1. teachnicks

teachnicks New Member

Sep 7, 2019

Hi! I am a 4th grade teacher in her 18th year. I’m experienced with all types of student needs, learning types, and issues. However, I am thrown for a loop this year. I have 23 students in my class. 14 of those students have severe ADHD All are medicated, 4 have IEPs, 2 also have OCD, 3 BD, and 3 with major trauma. By 1pm my classroom is bouncy off the walls! Math starts at 2:30 (which I cannot change) when it is nearly impossible to keep their attention. I have 1 para a couple of times during the day. We are only 2 and a half weeks in and I’m exhausted!! HELP!!! How do I manage this???

Tired Teacher likes this.
  3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Sep 8, 2019

You say this cannot change but I have to ask about it. Is that due to school schedule? This is an awful time to have math, especially if you have an active class.

Can you take them out for recess for 10 minutes directly before math time?

Backroads and Tired Teacher like this.
  4. talknteach

talknteach Rookie

Sep 8, 2019

I completely hear you. How long is math? Can you take a break halfway through- snack break, small recess, movement, etc?

You could also try telling them: this is what we are going to do today in math and write them on the board (maybe 3 things- warm up, geometry lesson, geometry workbook page, for example). IF we get through these by such and such time, you can have math app time on a device? Or math game time? Then as the year goes on, wean them off the game time unless it is a particularly hard day?

5. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Comrade

Sep 8, 2019