Mutiny in my music class...help please. (long)

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by ILoveMyCello, Aug 18, 2009.

1. ILoveMyCello

ILoveMyCello Companion

Aug 18, 2009

I need help....please!

I am a new teacher in a very poor, 98% African American district. If this year keeps up like it has been, I will leave at the end of the year and go back to substituting at home, which is much less hassle than this.

Our second graders come to the arts at the end of the day. The second grade class I had today had 27 kids in it. They have each special 35 minutes one day a week. Due to the contract, we take them to the busses at 3 instead of the teachers (so they get 45 minutes of planning time like everyone else).

To make a long story short, the kids came with their bookbags in a mutiny, instead of a line-running in a group with their teacher behind them. The mutiny was about 7 boys-which made the rest of the class disruptive. I turned around and the teacher was gone.

I had two boys punching each other, one screaming, three kicking the walls, and one running around the room. This made the rest of the class disrupted. I didnt get through attendance, or half of my lesson. I made the boys punching each other go to the office with a note and the principal let them come right back-just signing the note!

The special ed teacher next door and the principal came in and yelled at them twice. Nothing helped. The classroom teacher told me it was those 7 that hindered her as well. I just do not want to be put in the situation where I cannot get ANY instructional material out without having to stop every 20 minutes.