Must see's/to do's in London?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by TennisPlayer, Jun 13, 2012.

1. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Jun 13, 2012

My husband is going there for work soon and won't have a lot of time to sightsee since it's a work related trip. I haven't been there since I was a kid so if anyone has been there recently, what were some of the things you recommend? Maybe list just a few and if something stands out, I'll let him know! :)

3. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Jun 13, 2012

Ride the Eye! The view is spectacular!

I really enjoyed the Globe and was very bummed that we couldn't get into Westminster on our very short trip, but that might just be because I am an English teacher.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jun 13, 2012

Definitely ride The Eye!! If you want to hit Westminster, be there before 3:30 since that is when they close the sighseeing tours. We got there too late and were bummed. The Tower is amazing, especially if you know some of the history behind it. Try to eat at the Prince Albert one night if you can, great food! If you can get out to see Windsor, that's great too, Buckingham Palace is good, but it was very crowded when we were there. Oh I can't wait to go back!!!!

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 13, 2012

Get (free) tickets for the Ceremony of the Keys at the Tower of London!!! It's tne nightly closing ceremony at the Tower, when the Queen's keys are passed from the day shift (Yeoman Warder I think???) to the night shift. It's complete with ghost stories and the tale of the one time during the Blitz that the ceremony was late. It's absolutely fabulous. The tickets are easy to find online.