Must Resign for a recommendation?????

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TeachCafe, Jun 26, 2019.

1. TeachCafe

TeachCafe Comrade

Jun 26, 2019

I'm asking for a friend of mine who said her current principal at a charter school told her she won't give her a recommendation until she resigns FIRST.

I have no charter school background because I'm in public school so I know with public schools you could call up the state education board and ask and there's some backing there. But with charter schools, I know they can basically do whatever they want. But what state protpcols are in place here? I have no idea how to advise her. I've helped with her resume, cover letters, interview question practice and job tips and she's finally getting a lot of interviews.

Is this for real? Can she do that? This is Texas. Even in the business world, no one resigns until they have a new job and bosses give references. You can't force someone to resign and hold over a recommendation can you? If so, link me that info because I have NEVER heard of that

3. fallenshadow

fallenshadow Rookie

Jun 26, 2019

1. Does it matter to her in her situation or morally?
    2. If it does matter, is she willing to go through the process to do something about it?
    3. Does she have the resources to do anything about it?

4. TeachCafe

TeachCafe Comrade

Jun 26, 2019

I'm super confused on what you mean here. She's a single mother so resigning with no secure job isn't an option. She's just trying to get a public school job for more security and moneuy

5. fallenshadow

fallenshadow Rookie

Jun 26, 2019

The "Texas Classroom Teachers Association" states the following: "Under Texas law, threatening to do something that one has a right to do cannot constitute coercion." . This means that it is not likely going to be considered illegal; however, she could theoretically bring it to the media. I would not recommend it because she has no proof unless you know something I don't.