music....

Discussion in 'General Education' started by drowningintears, Oct 22, 2007.

1. drowningintears

drowningintears Rookie

Oct 22, 2007

so, im a student...and today my LA teacher gave me detention because i listen to "suicidal music" as she likes to call it...so do any of you have any ideas of why she did that, or am i crazy?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 22, 2007

Where you listening to it during her class? If not and it wasn't hindering your learning, then I don't understand the detention.

4. drowningintears

drowningintears Rookie

Oct 22, 2007

I wasnt disturbing the class at all...she told us that we could listen to music or watch a video in the next classroom over, and she simply took one look at my ipod and told me that i had detention for listening to "bad suicide music".

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 22, 2007

I'm not sure why she would let you listen to music or watch a video..but given that she did, I don't see the need for the detention. Have you gone to your principal to get their opinion?

6. drowningintears

drowningintears Rookie

Oct 22, 2007

She let us watch videos and listen to music because the rest of the school went on a trip and only a couple students stayed behind (me being one of them, because i have better things to do). The princable says the same thing everytime, "You probably deserve it anyways" if i hear those words one more time i'll go mad. The whole school system is ****ed up...

7. TemperanceFaith

TemperanceFaith Comrade

Oct 23, 2007

Sigh. Music is one misunderstood subject matter. You can blame the Constitution for that. When our Forefathers gave us freedom of speech, I do not think they anticipated the uproars that freedom would cause, or the controversy.