Music in classroom?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by katerina03, Jul 26, 2005.

1. katerina03

katerina03 Devotee

Jul 26, 2005

For you middle and high school teachers, do you play music in the classroom while students take tests or do other work?
    I know as a sub and student teaching I found that some teachers play classical music (turned down very low) and some teachers let pop music play on the radio (to a higher volume). I don't know what I will do when I have my own room. I like the idea of music in the classroom (classical or anything soothing) yet, I know that some students can't focus without silence and other students may find the musis so boring they get drowsy. Heavy Metal is actually my favorite music, but I wouldn't dream of playing that at school.
    Do you let them listen to music and what kind?

3. sdhudgins

sdhudgins Comrade

Jul 26, 2005

hehe I'm a music teacher, but I do teach one text based class.
    I let them listen to music during work but not tests. It's just not fair to the students who need the silence to truely concentrate on the tests. They all seem to handle it well for just regular class room work. We listen to a wide variety of music. Classical, rock, country, pop, even some rap. I've even allowed them to bring CD's too, they must be school appropriate of course. I've not had anyone abuse this ..yet ;)

4. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Jul 26, 2005

In one of my Psycch classes in college, we talked about how recall works... so if you're eating an apple while studying, eating an apple during the test iwll help your recall... same thing goes for music... if you listen to a CD whiel sutdying, the same CD will help you during a test... so for the test, several people had asked if they could listen to their Discman while taking the test... they said they did better on that one than on any other. Just some food for thought. ;)

5. Mamacita

Mamacita Aficionado

Jul 27, 2005