Music/CD suggestions for Kindie?

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by MPSimecek, Aug 21, 2004.

1. MPSimecek

MPSimecek Rookie

Aug 21, 2004

Hey everyone!

Since it's my first year teaching Kindie, and I KNOW kindies love their music, do any of you have any good suggestions for "must haves" in the classroom? I'm hoping to find some CDs to use for "Motor breaks/Movement" and then some to use to gather them in circle, etc, to start the day.

Any and all ideas very much appreciated. I have one week left before I start with kids!

Thanks.
    Michelle

3. Margo

Margo Devotee

Aug 21, 2004

Anything by Greg and Steve or Hap Palmer. I love both of their music. Also, I hear good things about Dr. Jean but have never actually heard or used her stuff. Mr. Al is another one that is supposed to be good, but again, I can't verify.

4. GlendaLL

GlendaLL Aficionado

Aug 21, 2004

Check out www.frankleto.com
    I use his music with my 4/5 year olds. The kids love his songs!

5. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Aug 21, 2004

I've seen Mr Al in concert several times and he is great fun. He lives around here.

6. Margo

Margo Devotee

Aug 21, 2004

We were supposed to go see him last year but there was a terrible mix up with our busses and we had to cancel the trip. Lots of unhappy students.

7. gpsysngbrd

gpsysngbrd Companion

Aug 21, 2004

I use Dr. Jean and Jack Hartmann.

8. andy butzon

andy butzon Guest

Aug 21, 2004

pre-kindergarten teacher

any of dr. jean's cd's are great, especially Dr. Jean and friends and Dr. Jean sings sillly songs...must-haves for any preschool teacher! (Dr. Jean Feldman)[
    QUOTE=MPSimecek]Hey everyone!

Since it's my first year teaching Kindie, and I KNOW kindies love their music, do any of you have any good suggestions for "must haves" in the classroom? I'm hoping to find some CDs to use for "Motor breaks/Movement" and then some to use to gather them in circle, etc, to start the day.