multiplication facts

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by Deeena, Sep 16, 2009.

1. Deeena

Deeena Cohort

Sep 16, 2009

I was wondering what everyone here does with their students when practicing multiplication facts. Do you incorporate practice into your daily math routine, do you have games that they play, centers, etc.? I'm new to this grade and would love to know what others do to incorporate practice.

3. HeatherY

HeatherY Habitué

Sep 16, 2009

I just got hired to alleviate the overcrowded classroom, but what I think is weird is that these kids have no exposure to multiplication yet. We are still reviewing subtraction, measurement, and money. We use Everyday Math and multiplication is introduced in unit 4 (we just started unit 2). Is that weird? Are you doing multiplication already?

Anyway, have you seen superspeed math from power teaching? I plan on bringing that in in a couple more weeks. Have you made flashcards? They could always pull out flashcards if they finish work early. You could make each number with a big piece of construction paper folded into 12 squares. Different colors for different numbers.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Sep 16, 2009

I started multiplication in the beginning of the year. It takes all year to master, I think.

1. Used square tiles to break into groups. Everyone started with, say, 20 tiles and they saw all the different ways they could be grouped. We saw the difference between horizontal placement (4 rows of 5, say) from vertical placement (5 rows of 4). They learned that 4 x 5 means 4 groups of 5.

2. We used repeated addition with low numbers and demonstrated that adding 2 four times means 4 times 2. We also used hundreds charts and colored multiples.

3. Kids used graph paper to color the arrays for products. We did a few a day and some kids worked ahead.

4. Kids cut out the arrays and mounted them on construction paper.

5. Kids made their own flash cards which they put on rings.