Multiplication Facts

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by cMcD, Jun 10, 2008.

1. cMcD

cMcD Groupie

Jun 10, 2008

I'm new to third (moving down from 4th). Do you do anything special to help students master their facts?

I remember in 3rd grade that we would use flashcards a lot. In order to pass you had to go through multiplication cards with the teacher. I did Rocket Math with my 4th graders this year.

3. buck8teacher

buck8teacher Devotee

Jun 10, 2008

Well my math program doesn't really stress memorization of the facts. So we did time tests at the end of the year, and they got a certain part of a sunday party for passing each fact family. Bowl, spoon, scoop, topping, etc. I bought a couple sets of flash cards and kept them in an accessible place for my students for when they were finished with their work. I would also send home half of a math drills page or one of these sheets if they didn't pass for the second day in a row. http://www.busyteacherscafe.com/worksheets/two_tables.pdf
    I sent home a multplication table and encouraged my students to make flashcards and found that it was a something that the parents really enjoyed working with their child on.

I hope this helps!

4. New3rdTeacher

New3rdTeacher Comrade

Jun 10, 2008

did you look rocket math at all?

5. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Jun 10, 2008

Our math program doesn't stress memorization in 3rd, either. It's more about understanding the conceptual. However, starting after mid-winter break, I send home a packet of problems a week in a specific order. They often had the same problems 2 weeks in a row. Some weeks, I gave a mixed review also, like 6's and 9's together.

1, 2, 5, 10, 11, 3, 6, 9, 4, 8, 12 Review (7's are in the reviews, and at this point the only problem they never had was 7 x 7.)