Multiplication facts /Reading Fluency

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Elizabeth09, Aug 23, 2017.

1. Elizabeth09

Elizabeth09 Rookie

Aug 23, 2017

Do any of you wonderful teachers have suggestions on helping a student with basic multiplication facts? I have a 5th grader who still struggles with basic multiplication facts. Her parents would love suggestions on how to help her at home with that and becoming more fluent in reading as well. Aside from reading, do you have any suggestions? They want to help her but feel like they're repetitive and are having to start from the basics all over again each night, making homework take even longer. I am new to special education so would love advice from others who have more experience.

3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Aug 23, 2017

With reading - work on finding some just-right books that that kid can enjoy, and get them reading as much as possible. You might talk to the parents and challenge them to find time to fit in time where they read together (perhaps of some slightly harder books), and possibly borrow audiobooks that the child could follow along with in a book. If they watch any TV, have them turn the closed captioning on, too. As much exposure to words and literature, the better!