Multiples and Factors

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by musketeer2002, Aug 26, 2011.

1. musketeer2002

musketeer2002 Rookie

Aug 26, 2011

I am a 5th grade teacher and I introduced multiples and factors this week and the kids learned how to find least common multiple and greatest common factor. They get the two confused. Does anyone have any suggestions on helping them to differentiate between the two. Perhaps a catchy saying or song?

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Aug 26, 2011

One of the things I did when I was the math resource teacher was to break those words down and to explain what each word meant. The reason why they get them confused is because they don't even know what each term means.

So, go back, and reteach just LCM. What does least mean? Same with common and multiple. Okay, so least means small, common means the same, and multiple is the product of a number and any other whole number.

Now, do many MANY problems to find the LCM. Once they have that down, then do the same for GCF. Break it down, explain what each term means. I found that by breaking it all down, and explaining it, it really helped them.

4. ami6880

ami6880 Companion

Aug 26, 2011

I always tell them that multiples are skip counting...I make a chart with them as well showing vocab showing that multiples of 24 (for example) are 48, 72, 96.... and factors would be 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24. Then we circle and label GCF and LCM.

Just having the visual around which they participated in helps a ton.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 27, 2011

LOTS of kids continue to confuse the terms!!!

MULTiples are what happen when you MULTIPLY the number by another whole number.

6. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 27, 2011

There are Many Multiples but only a Few Factors.

7. Marci07

Marci07 Devotee

Aug 27, 2011

Good one.

8. musketeer2002

musketeer2002 Rookie

Aug 27, 2011