Multiple Choice Questions in Math

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teachin4ever, Sep 30, 2010.

1. teachin4ever

teachin4ever Cohort

Sep 30, 2010

One of the things my grad school group and I discussed this week was whether or not multiple choice questions should be used in math.

As a math teacher, I personally never use them in my class. Some of my group members said they did to help prepare their students for the state assessments.

I thought it was an interesting discussion so I thought I'd continue it on her...what do you guys think?

3. TeachinHicks

TeachinHicks Comrade

Sep 30, 2010

I use them for tests, but I use the book tests. I do require my students to show their work though. The state tests have multiple choice here in NC even in Math, so they have to be able to work it and then find the right multiple choice answer. We do a lot of activities though that are not multiple choice and almost all of our practice is without it.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 30, 2010

I use them for our Trimester and Comprehensive exams. The scantron section is usually worth about 40% of the test.

Other than that, I'm the Queen of Partial Credit.

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Oct 1, 2010

I agree with partial credit. Sometimes I will make part of the test multiple choice, but the choices are always on a separate page. Students have to show their work and then choose the correct choice. It is good practice to learn to use the choices to help solve some problems, but I expect the work in the end.

6. Cerek

Cerek Aficionado

Oct 1, 2010

I've used a mixture of multiple choice and short answer on my quizzes. I gave my first unit test this week and made it completely multiple choice. There were 25 questions and I wanted to make sure the students would have time to complete them all.

I had a good range of grades on the test, so I feel it was a good assessment and all the students except one finished in plenty of time.